Guinness Goes Vegan

Starting in 2016, Guinness will be fully vegan friendly for the first time since they began making beer 256 years ago. Guinness, like many other brewers, use isinglass, a by-product of the fishing industry that is used to make yeast settle faster. While it seems gross, this process is actually not uncommon at all for beer and wine makers. Unfortunately, traces of fish still ended up in the final product, so Guinness drinkers were unknowingly ingesting small amounts of isinglass. Now, the company will be phasing out isinglass starting next year so now their famous stout will be officially a vegan drink.

(Via Wochit News)

Comments

comments

CC BY-NC 4.0 Guinness Goes Vegan by Liveireland is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Niamh Lyons

Author: Niamh Lyons

Former broadcast SEO at Spots now happy mother with two kids in NY! Co Clare is my base.

Share This Post On

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *